Home Page


The Wesh Government's Foundation Phase provides the curriculum for all educational settings in Wales with children from 3-7 years old.  The Foundation Phase curriculum encourages children to be creative, imaginative and makes learning more enjoyable and more effective.


Children will be given opportunities to explore the world around them and understand how things work by taking part in practical activities relevant to their developmental stage. They will be challenged through practical activities and develop their thinking with open-ended questions. Children will be encouraged to explore concepts and share ideas for solving problems.


The Foundation Phase has 7 Areas of Learning which are delivered through practical activities and active learning experiences both indoors and outdoors. The Areas of Learning are:

  • Personal and Social Development, Well-being and Cultural Diversity
  • Language, Literacy and Communication Skills
  • Mathematical Development
  • Welsh Language Development
  • Knowledge and Understanding of the World
  • Physical Development
  • Creative Development.


For more information on the Foundation Phase curriculum please click here


Early Literacy

The school has adopted Read Write Inc as its main phonics teaching tool and offers Parent Partnership workshops to explain and share this approach at the start of the Summer term. 

If you'd like to find out more about Read Write Inc and the school's approach to teaching early literacy please speak to the Head Teacher or Assistant Head Teacher.

Here are some links to the Read Write Inc website that you might find useful.


Schools in Wales now use the Literacy and Numeracy Framework (LNF) as their curriculum in these areas.  It provides detailed information for each year group identifying key skills.

Please follow this link for LNF


The Welsh Government's guidance on how digital skills should be embedded within and throughout the curriculum are outlined here.  The Framework identifies specific key skills for each year group within 4 strands.

Please follow this link